Sazerac House logo

You must be legal drinking age

Whisky Awards 2023



The immersive experience celebrating the 383-year history of the Sazerac Company took top honors at the national competition from Whisky Magazine

NEW ORLEANS, LA (February 16, 2023) – The Sazerac House was recognized as the top visitor attraction in the United States at the 2023 “Icons of Whisky” awards ceremony in Louisville, Kentucky on February 9, 2023. The awards, which recognize excellence in the whisky industry across the United States, are presented by Whisky Magazine, the industry’s leading publication about whisky. Sazerac House won the “Visitor Attraction” category for its three-story interactive visitor experience featuring drink samples, cocktail classes, a Sazerac Rye distillery and a retail shop featuring spirits, gifts from local New Orleans makers and bar tools and glassware.

“Our talented team strives to deliver memorable experiences to all of our guests by telling the amazing stories of Sazerac Company, New Orleans, its unique cocktail culture, and the way our signature spirits have been central to the city’s history,” said Ed Bell, General Manager of the Sazerac House. “To be recognized for our hard work is truly an honor. We will continue to expand our programming and offerings and aim to exceed the expectations of future guests!”

The Icons of Whisky Awards are put on by Whisky Magazine to recognize the people, places and products that complete the whole dynamic of the whisky industry.

About Sazerac House

Standing proudly in a historic building at the corner of Canal and Magazine, and just a short stroll from the original 1850s era Sazerac Coffeehouse, the Sazerac House is an immersive exploration of the spirited culture of New Orleans. Featuring three floors of interactive exhibits across 48,000 square feet, including private event venues, an on-site Sazerac Rye distillery, and Peychaud’s Bitters production facility, the Sazerac House welcomes visitors to experience New Orleans history through the stories of its cocktails.  For more information on the Sazerac House, please visit

About the Icons of Whisky

First introduced by Whisky Magazine in 2007, the annual Icons of Whisky awards aim to celebrate the achievements of outstanding people and places in the global whisky industry, including distilleries and staff, retailers, bars and industry communicators. The awards are now split into five regions: America, Australia, Ireland, Scotland, and Rest of World. The Icons of Whisky form part of the annual Whisky Magazine Awards, along with the World Whiskies Awards and Hall of Fame.

Here’s to history that’s worth repeating